The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
 All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 problem with "while loop simulation"

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Anti-Spam Code:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkUpload FileInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
mlhomer1 Posted - 01/07/2002 : 2:49:41 PM
I am very new to origin and labtalk. I am trying to read in some data files and search for a particular line. I have tried several ways to use the "while loop simulation", and every way seems to end up in an infinite loop. It's as if the program executes everything within the brackets of the for statement, without actually going back and evaluating expression2. All I want to do is stop at a line when the letter "h" is no longer found. Here is what I wrote:
for (ii=1; "%a" == "h"; ii++) { %a=%(jul1201la,1,ii); %a=;};
Alternately, I tried:
for (;"%a" != "n"; ) { %a= %(jul1201la,1,ii); ii++; };
Both end up in infinte loops. What am I doing wrong?
Thank you,
Margie
3   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
CStorey Posted - 01/10/2002 : 1:03:36 PM