The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 Curve fitting: Breit-wigner-fano line
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

jakefilik

UK
1 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2002 :  02:50:27 AM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Hello, i'm very new to origin and am having a few troubles. I am trying to curve fit with a Breit wigner fano line, only after messing round for a few hours, manual in hand, i realise i have no idea what im doing!
the equation is: y = {y0[1+2(x-xc)/Qw]^2}/{1+[2(x-xc)/w]^2}
the curve is a skewed loretzian where Q is the skewness factor.
If anyone has any tips that would be great.

easwar

USA
1964 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2002 :  5:17:19 PM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Hello,

Please take a look at this tech review article:
http://www.originlab.com/www/resources/tech_reviews/may98/topic1p1.asp

Also, if you have 6.x, you can look at the sample project located at:
\Sample Projects\Data Analysis\Curve Fitting\NLSF User Def Func
under your Origin installation directory.

You can find help on such topics by searching the knowledge base:
http://www.originlab.com/www/support/techdataform.asp

The upcoming version of Origin, ver 7, will provide a built-in C compiler that will make fitting with user-defined functions much faster than it is currently in ver 6.x
For more information on what is new in ver 7.0, please take a look at:
http://www.originlab.com/www/products/origin7/index.asp

Easwar
OriginLab.

Edited by - easwar on 01/17/2002 17:19:56
Go to Top of Page

vccer

Malaysia
4 Posts