The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 Multi-Step Fit-and-Plot
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

BryanK

Canada
26 Posts

Posted - 11/03/2013 :  5:37:25 PM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Origin Ver. and Service Release (Select Help-->About Origin): 8.0-9.0
Operating System: Windows 7

Hello users,
I am new to the Origin forum and the software, but as a scientist who was long-overdue for an Excel-switch I am really enjoying it so far.

I have a problem because I am not well-versed in Origin's features. I have learned enough to plot the picture I have attached, but require a mulit-step data analysis that is mostly manually improvised right now.

This is what I need to do:
- take the average (or intercept of a linear fit) for each plateau of T and use each as a new data point
- do the same with each Voltage plateau at the identical data range - in the time scale (x-axis)
- make a scatter plot of the T-plateau-points on the x and the V-plateau-points on the y. Take this slope. (14 points on this picture)

Problem is right now the regional data selection tool is dragged by hand, meaning I don't have the same range for T and V plateaus. Also, I am essentially typing the fitted points again into new columns to make the scatter.

Can anybody suggest a "clean" strategy for this type of analysis? I expect to do this numerous times with more data. Thank you kindly,

Bryan

PS - While I am not against macros, I would prefer to learn about Origin's features before trying to automate my work.

Hideo Fujii

USA
1582 Posts