The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum for Programming
 LabTalk Forum
 creating multiple workbooks inside a cycle if
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

Iole

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - 04/30/2015 :  11:19:43 AM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Dear all,

I am new to Origin LabTalk and I need some help.

I have managed to separate a long column of data into multiple columns on which I can work separately, by using a cycle "for" and the conditioning "if".

What I would like to do is to save each column into a new workBook, that is generated automatically as the cycle is run trough. Any suggestion on how to do that?

Thank you very much in advance,
I.

ziffirina

JRoby

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 04/30/2015 :  4:40:24 PM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Doing this within the loop may be difficult since you can only run the code when an extracted column is complete.
Perhaps a repeated use of the wxt function which can accept conditions and create a new workbook may be a better approach.
Once you have a column to copy to a new book (here the column number is stored in the 'icol' variable), you could use this code:

range raC = $(iCol); // iCol is the column to copy
%M = %H; // Remember this workbook
newbook; // Create a new book
range raD = 1; // or whatever target column you want
win -a %M; // Go back to original workbook
copy raC raD; // Copy column to new book column

The last two line are interchangeable.
Go to Top of Page

Iole

United Kingdom
4 Posts