The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum for Programming
 Forum for Origin C
 Import datasets with various length
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

aredart

2 Posts

Posted - 12/02/2015 :  1:57:45 PM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Origin Ver. and Service Release (Select Help-->About Origin): Origin 2015G Sr2
Operating System: Windows 10

Hello,

I'm a beginner with Origin C and I need to import some data.
Its one file with multiple datasets of two types (Type A, Type B). There is a main header at the beginning and then a special header for each dataset. All headers and datasets have various lengths and the two types don't have any order.
I would like to put all A-datasets in one workbook. Each dataset should be in its own sheet with a note sheet with the relating header beforehand. Then the same for the B-datasets.
My first problem is, that I could not find a function which generates a new note sheet in the workbook. The only solution I found was an extra note window, but this would be too confusing because of the great number of datasets.
Also, I can not understand how to import datasets with various length. I read all the Import-related topics in the Origin C forum and the programming guide, also I understood how to do a partial import and so on, but not how to handle various header/dataset lenghts.
Maybe there is a function which could find given words in my header and read out the following string/number? I think this would serve best, for all information I need is written down in the header (esp. the length of the dataset).

The headers are of the following type:
# information1: 1000