The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 Skip Points of overlapping lines
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

MrBenBen

Germany
3 Posts

Posted - 06/15/2016 :  09:53:35 AM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Hello,

I'm new in using Origin for creating graphs and now I have a problem, I can't find a solution by myself or in older topicd of this forum. I try to create a simple line+symbol plot. But the problem is, there are lines which are overlapping. So the lines and the symbols are equal and you can't see any diffrence between the lines. One line is behind the other. Is it possible to move the symbols of one line a little further, so the symbols are at other data points? And you can seperate both lines? I hope my problem is clear. Maybe the following picture is helpfull. In this picture you can see my Graph with th overlappig lines. Thanks for your help!

Edited by - MrBenBen on 06/15/2016 10:21:15 AM

Chris D

428 Posts

Posted - 06/15/2016 :  10:26:09 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Hi,

If your two plots are grouped, you can open the Plot Details dialog and select the layer. In the Stack tab, you can specify a nice offset for the plots. It will offset the plots without changing the underlying data (which is ideal).

If the plots are not grouped, double-click on the little gray layer icon in the upper left of the graph. This will open the Layer Contents dialog. In the list of plots to the right, select all the plots and hit the Group button to group them. Then go back to Plot Details dialog and offset them.