The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 find maximum in y columns & their x values
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

j1623

4 Posts

Posted - 04/10/2022 :  02:55:16 AM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Hi,

I have multiple y columns and a x column. How to find maximum in every y columns and their corresponding x values? I want to plot a graph to show the distribution of the maximums. I tried "statistics on columns" to get the maximums but I don't know how to get the corresponding x values. I tried labtalk scripts but I'm not good at it.

Col(A) is the x column and start from Col(B) are y columns:

Thank you very much.

yuki_wu

896 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2022 :  02:11:33 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Hi,

You can use cell formula. For example, if you need to find out the x value of the maximum value in column B, you can type the function below inside an empty cell:

=table(col(B),col(A),max(col(B)));

To learn more about cell formula, please see:
https://www.originlab.com/doc/Origin-Help/Using-Formulae-to-Set-Cell-Values

Regards, Yuki
Go to Top of Page

j1623

4 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2022 :  04:58:06 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
quote:
Originally posted by yuki_wu

Hi,

You can use cell formula. For example, if you need to find out the x value of the maximum value in column B, you can type the function below inside an empty cell:

=table(col(B),col(A),max(col(B)));

To learn more about cell formula, please see: