The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 how to set column value for a set length
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

ywh

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 11/07/2014 :  5:42:16 PM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Origin Ver. and Service Release (Select Help-->About Origin): 9.0
Operating System: Windows 7

I'm new to Origin and would like some help on this task.

I have a column of numbers Col(A), mostly 1s, a few 10s and 0s. The 10s and 0s are flags. I want to set numbers in Col(B) based on these flags. If Col(A)[1] is 10, then I want to set Col(B)[1] through Col(B)[250] to be 1. If Col(A)[1000] is 0, then I want to set Col(B)[1000] through Col(B)[1500] to 2. The rest will be 0.

How do I achieve setting the new column value for a certain length either using "Set Column Value" or other scripts?

Thanks a lot!

greg

USA
1378 Posts

Posted - 11/10/2014 :  11:27:54 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
You have asked for two non-exclusive conditions each with separate ranges so Set Column Values would need to be used three times.
The first would fill the full range of column B with zero. (From = 1, To = whatever needed)
Next, for rows 1 to 250 you could use the expression
col(A)[1]==10?1:0
Finally, for rows 1000 to 1500 you could use the expression
col(A)[1000]==0?2:0

Of course LabTalk could be used for a programmed solution.
Go to Top of Page

ywh

USA
4 Posts

Posted - 11/12/2014 :  3:00:04 PM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Hi Greg: