The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 finding plume dispersion parameters
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

amit_concordia

Canada
Posted - 10/19/2005 :  12:10:05 AM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
Hello,
I am new to this software and the user forum. I know that we can fit a gaussian model to a particular data or fit a user defined function to get a desired fit for any data.

Is it possible to fit an user defined equation to a dataset uising least square fitting and find one particular parameter of that user defined equation. For example if we have say the plume dispersion data (concentration on y axis vs. distance on x axis) whose distribution looks gaussian, can we find the standard deviation by fitting a gaussian plume dispersion equation using least squares.

thanks

easwar

USA
1964 Posts

Posted - 10/19/2005 :  09:21:05 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
quote:

Is it possible to fit an user defined equation to a dataset uising least square fitting and find one particular parameter of that user defined equation.

Hi,

By the above if you are asking whether only one parameter can be varied and all others set to be fixed to known values, yes that is possible. You can use the NLSF tool and for each parameter in the equation there is a corresponding check box that determines if that parameter should be varied or not during the fitting process.

If this is not what you mean, please explain.

Easwar
OriginLab

Go to Top of Page

amit_concordia

Canada