The Origin Forum
File Exchange
Try Origin for Free
The Origin Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Send File to Tech support
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password? | Admin Options

All Forums
 Origin Forum
 Origin Forum
 Using cell values in a function/script
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic Lock Topic Edit Topic Delete Topic New Topic Reply to Topic

DerekK

USA
14 Posts

Posted - 03/02/2016 :  3:58:32 PM  Show Profile  Edit Topic  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Topic
I am not an expert yet on scripting, but I would like to try this...

I am using ReduceDup to create a new column. To change the range of x values for the input, I need to go into Change Parameters and modify manually.
Is there a way to get these values from other cells?

I tried to use Set Column Values to populate a column this way. So I did the generate script and got this...
reducedup -r 1 iy:=Data!(W1"T bin",L1"delta h")[x15:25] method:=sum;

I want to put this in the script before function. How do I make the "[x15:25]" read the 15 and 25 from cells in the worksheet?

Thanks, Derek

Origin Ver. and Service Release (Select Help-->About Origin): 2015sr1
Operating System: win7

Echo_Chu

China
Posted - 03/03/2016 :  05:04:24 AM  Show Profile  Edit Reply  Reply with Quote  View user's IP address  Delete Reply
Hi, Derek

Please look at the image below as an example.
Column A and B are source data with duplicate X value. The X range is put in column C, starting as 5 and end as 12.

Then I set values of column D as in the dialog. And below are scripts which put in the Before Script Panel. the scripts read cell values to be r1 and r2 then use it in the reduceup function. Output the result to the 5th and 6th column.
Please note that in dialog I set column D = column C, which will trigger the recalculation if values of column C changes.

double  r1 = wcol(3)[1:1]; //1st row of col(c)